Strawberry White Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins.

[All right, I know this recipe was promised to be published yesterday, but I was having major Internet issues. Now that it’s all taken care of…]

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will try to make this coherent. It’s been a long, long week. Today was probably the longest day of my life.

Strawberries are my favorite fruit, which is why I’m always reluctant to use them in baked goods for fear of ruining their wonderful flavor and juiciness. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

All right, that was a little dramatic. The parental units made an unannounced trip to our farmer’s market without first informing me and returned with a few of those little green crates that house freshly picked strawberries. Two days later, however, there was still a full crate left in the fridge (apparently, my family likes to buy food and see how they aesthetically compliment the vegetables, yogurt containers, etc. instead of, oh, I dunno, actually eating it) and I just happened to have a get-together with some of my friends that evening that involved food sharing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thus, to prevent disaster from striking, enter the heroes of this story: my mini-muffin pan and this recipe. You might remember how much I adore this pan from my previous mini muffin post. Whenever an opportunity arises to fill these little tins with muffin batter, I spring at the chance. And off I went, taking no survivors, diving fearlessly into the prospect of the collision of white chocolate and strawberries nestled in a sweet muffin.

It suffices to say I was crazy not to use strawberries earlier in baking. It also suffices to say that “good” is not sufficient enough an adjective for these mini muffins. They’re light, fluffy, sweet, and have I mentioned yummy? (I’m not too old to say that, right?) I smell more in my future.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I used fresh strawberries, I have no idea how frozen ones would work with this. Try that at your own risk. Before I stirred in the strawberries, I patted them dry – well, at least, comparably drier – between two paper towels to remove the excess moisture to nix any excess water. And when I say “do not overmix”, I mean it! Go crazy whisking the dry ingredients, cream the heck outta that butter and sugar, but when it comes to mixing it all together, mix only until combined, otherwise your mini muffins will become mini bricks or mini lead cups. Mmmm. Don’t omit the almond extract either, unless you can help it! Almond extract is one of my favorite things to use in baking, and it really adds to these.

If you don’t like white chocolate, use mini chocolate chips or chopped chocolate. Or whatever else you desire. The world is your muffin liner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s the weekend. Treat yourself and the ones you love. And remember, they’re small, so it’s ok to eat two. Or five.

Strawberry White Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins (printable version here!)
adapted from from A Recipe a Day
m
akes 36 mini muffins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • additional sugar for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a mini-muffin pan with liners and set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add egg; mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Add flour and milk alternately to creamed butter mixture. Stir in extracts. Do not overmix!
  5. Gently stir in strawberries and white chocolate chips.
  6. Spoon the batter into the mini muffin tins. Sprinkle with sugar if desired.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center of one comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then remove to cool completely on a wire rack. Devour.
3 thoughts on “Strawberry White Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins.

Leave a Reply

