Overnight Oats.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am a breakfast-lover. In grade school, I was that kid who always enthusiastically answered, “Yes!” when the teacher asked if anyone had eaten breakfast. In high school, I barely made it to lunch if I hadn’t eaten breakfast that morning. I am also a creature of habit, and I don’t mind. In the four weeks I’ve been home, my breakfasts have basically been the same: a bowl of mixed cereal with fruit and soy milk with a cup of green tea (sometimes Greek yogurt instead of the milk). Occasionally, my stomach will demand something else, but usually I give into my easy bowl of cereal because I’m usually starving when I wake up in the morning.

So I’ve decided enough was enough: it was time to break out of my boring morning food routine. As much as I like oatmeal, it’s a pain to stand by the stove for 15 minutes stirring it in 80 degree heat and ridiculous humidity. And considering I’m going to be waking up at 5 every morning during the week for the rest of the summer to go to work, I sure as heck aren’t going to have a smidgen of time to waste on making breakfast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Enter overnight oats. All you need is a jar, oatmeal, milk, and whatever else you’d like to mix into said oats (mostly in the sweetener, nut, and dried fruit categories). Pour them in previously mentioned jar, shake like a maraca, stick it in the fridge, and 8 hours later…breakfast, edible and perfect cold, at room temperature, or steaming hot.

This isn’t so much of a recipe as a guideline. It’s really flexible – there are just a few things you need to keep in mind, and you can adjust the amount of add-ins to your liking. Open up the jar when you wake up, and breakfast is served! Which gives you more time to read the paper, dress your kids, clean the carpets, meditate, mentally prepare yourself to seize the day. Then you’re that much closer to a happy morning.

Well, perhaps a bearable morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overnight Oats
from The Oatmeal Artist

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (or steel-cut oats if you’re feeling adventurous)
  • 1/2 cup milk (cow’s, soy, almond, coconut, etc.)
  • sweetener (sugar, honey, maple syrup, etc.)
  • flax seed
  • cinnamon/other spices
  • coconut
  • nuts & seeds, whole or chopped
  • fruit (dry, frozen, or fresh)*
  • whatever else you’d like to add

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients in a jar. Seal tight; shake vigorously until all ingredients are mixed. Let sit overnight in the refrigerator. Devour cold or warm in the microwave first.

*NOTE: Any fruit may be added the night before or in the morning, depending on your preference.

2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats.

  1. Pingback: 26. | The Gratitude Projekt: 365 days of thanksgiving.

  2. Pingback: Saturday breakfast. | 221Breakfast Club

Leave a Reply

