Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Hello friends. It’s been a while, hasn’t it? What with spring break insanity and getting back to school, things have been a little busy these past week. Not to worry thought, I brought you something.

I bring you…more pancakes.

There’s a reason breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It’s also the most beautiful and most delicious: you can consume sweets under the guise of “it’s breakfast food and I haven’t eaten in 12 hours!”. You’re allowed to eat a lot because it helps to jumpstart your metabolism (sounds good to me!).

I have a soft spot for muffins. Especially lemon poppyseed muffins. Citrus isn’t one of my better-liked flavors, but I make exceptions for Florida oranges, lemon cake, and lemon poppyseed muffins. Unfortunately, muffins aren’t always very fulfilling to my stomach. Plus, breakfast is more fun if you eat it with a fork (I used to think the opposite, but forks are fun).

Oh, and I’m really impatient in the mornings. Especially when I’m hungry. Which I always am.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I ran across this recipe on Joy The Baker’s blog, I knew I had to make it. I have such a love affair with her blog, it’s a little insane. Most of my Internet bookmarks are her recipes. I stayed up until 1 in the morning once looking through her entire blog. Yes, I remain unabashed. I regret nothing.

Who am I to pass up making pancakes on a (depressingly cold) spring break morning?

Warm, fluffy, lemon-y, poppy seed-y pancakes, hot from the griddle. The most work you’ll have to do is zesting the lemons, which is fairly therapeutic. Mix the ingredients. Then, do the pancake thing. You won’t be disappointed by the slight crunch from the poppy seeds and tang of the lemon. Lemon juice + lemon zest = delicious lemon-ness. The buttermilk definitely takes these from good to great.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes
Very slightly adapted from Joy the Baker
(makes a lot of pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons lemon zest (about 1 medium lemon)
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons poppyseeds

Directions

  1. Combine granulated sugar and lemon zest. Rub the two together until well-incorporated and sugar smells like lemon. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir in the lemon sugar and set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, eggs, vanilla extract, lemon juice, and melted butter.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Add the poppyseeds and stir to combine. Let the batter rest for about 10 minutes.
  5. Add a teaspoon of butter, oil, or cooking spray to your pan or griddle (I prefer butter) and heat over medium heat. Dollop or ladle batter onto hot pan. Cook until bubbles form on the edges and middle and pop. Flip and cook until the other side is golden brown.
  6. Repeat until all batter is gone. Place cooked pancakes on a baking sheet or oven-safe plate in a 200 F oven until all pancakes are cooked and ready to serve.
  7. Top with butter, maple syrup, or jam. Devour.
2 thoughts on “Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes

Leave a Reply

