Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spring break is upon us.

Well, it’s upon me.

For some of the students at university, it means a week of sleeping – for others, it’s time for volunteering, or catching up on all the school work that’s been avoided for the past two months. For me…it’s time for food-ing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Home sweet kitchen.

My friend Kat is here at home with me for break…so while she was enjoying some well-deserved rest after our six hour car ride last night, my body decided that eight hours was more than enough for this exhausted university student and compelled me out of bed. So what’s a girl to do on a (semi-early) Saturday morning?

Make pancakes.

I’ll be honest, I’m not the most…stable pancake-maker. The burner makes me nervous, and don’t even get me started on the flipping.

If you have pancake-making anxiety too, don’t worry. It takes practice. Once, I decided to make pancakes for my then-boyfriend. Guess who burnt the first two and had to make her father cook the rest of them? This girl. Yep, not my shining moment. But in the three  plus years since then, I’ve – well, I’ve burned pancakes, yes, but I’ve gotten better at making and flipping them (and understanding that the burner needs to be on medium or lower before you put the batter in…oops). Practice makes deliciousness.

Oh, and if you burn some, don’t worry. For one, you’re going to make mistakes, but also, there’s probably someone within the vicinity who is willing to eat your “failures”.

Take a deep breath.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bet most of you are pancake pros. Maybe I’m the only one who is pancake-making awkward. This’ll be a breeze.

Can I just say that I love breakfast food a whole ton? It’s my favorite meal of the day, hands down. Of course, it’s hard for me to refuse steak or any kind of pasta, but there’s just something about pancakes, bacon, waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, fresh fruit, cereal…did I mention pancakes?

You know what’s even better than breakfast food? Dessert breakfast food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These pancakes are fluffy and delicious, and not too sweet – there’s just enough sugar and maple syrup, complemented by the spices and extracts. Omit the almond extract if you don’t have it, but if you do, it definitely makes a difference. A super delicious difference. Even the golden raisins elevated these pancakes from super-good to super-super-good, and that’s coming from a strict raisin-hater.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mix the ingredients, turn on the stove, and fear not the flipping.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes
adapted from Joy the Baker
(makes a heck of a lot of pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk (or a little more, depending on how you like the consistency of your pancakes)
  • 4 tbsp butter, melted & cooled
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat (or white whole wheat flour)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2+ cup golden raisins, white chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, chopped nuts (optional)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, beat eggs.
  2. Add in the buttermilk, butter, maple syrup, and extracts; mix well.
  3. Add flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. Mix well.
  4. Fold in raisins or other add-ins; let the batter sit for a few minutes.
  5. Add a teaspoon of butter, oil, or cooking spray to your pan or griddle; heat over medium heat. Ladle the batter onto the pan. When bubbles begin to form on the edges and middle, flip the pancake and cook until the other side is done.
  6. Repeat until all the batter is gone. To keep the finished pancakes warm while the others cook, place them on a heat-proof plate or baking sheet in a 200 F oven until all the pancakes are done.
  7. Top with butter, maple syrup, or peanut butter. Devour.
Leave a Reply

